Los Angeles Angels

Current Season
Team History
All-Time Leaders    Batting    Pitching
League Championship Titles: 1923, 1924, 1928, 1933, 1937, 1939, 1940
Ballpark: Wrigley Field

Wrigley Field   Opened: 1925   Capacity: 22,457
Avalon Boulevard and 42nd Place, Los Angeles, California

AVG overall 1.017
LHB 1.017, RHB 1.017
Doubles 1.077
Triples .639
HR overall 2.059
LHB 2.085, RHB 2.045

Distances/wall heights
Left Field line 340 ft./15 ft.
Left Field 342 ft./15 ft.
Left-Center Field 345 ft./15 ft.
Center Field 412 ft./12 ft.
Right-Center Field 345 ft./12 ft.
Right Field 341 ft./9 ft.
Right Field line 339 ft./9 ft.

In the Redux

In addition to their seven Pacific Coast League championships, the Angels own two World Championships, winning the World Series in 1937 and 1940. The Angels also made a postseason appearance in 1936.

Real-life history

Early professional leagues in California formed in or around San Francisco, and Los Angeles’ distance from the Bay Area tended to leave the city unrepresented. Angelenos finally got a team in the Class-B California League in 1892; the team was known as the Seraphs, a name that would not stick as an official monicker but would often be resurrected by sportswriters as an informal nickname (as would “Halos”, eventually). The following season the Los Angeles entry was known as the Angels, and Southern California has rarely been without a team by that name since.

1926 Los Angeles Angels, PCL Champions

The Angels were charter members of the six-team PCL in 1903, and immediately asserted dominance, winning pennants in 1903, 1905, 1907, and 1908. A more modest stretch followed but they were back on top in 1916 and 1918.

In 1921 they were purchased by William Wrigley, Jr., who also owned the Chicago Cubs. For many years the Angels were the only team in the PCL with a major league affiliation, and the association enabled them to field strong teams which won pennants in 1921, 1926, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1943, 1944, 1947, and 1956. The 1934 team is often heralded as the greatest in minor league history, rolling to a 137-50 record and defeating a team of PCL all-stars in a postseason series.

Mr. Met appears on an Angels’ program a decade before he made it to The Show.

Wrigley also built them a ballpark. Wrigley Field, which opened in 1925, held more than 22,000 spectators at a time when few minor league facilities held half that many. It was the first park to utilize that name; Cubs Park in Chicago was renamed Wrigley Field in 1927.

The team and the stadium were purchased by Brooklyn Dodgers owner Walter O’Malley in 1957 in preparation of his team’s move West in 1958, a transfer which would ultimately displace both the Angels and the Hollywood Stars. The Angels played one season in Los Angeles as a Dodgers’ affiliate before O’Malley moved the Dodgers to Los Angeles and the Angels to Spokane, where they were rechristened the Indians. The franchise has remained in the PCL, moving to different locations in the Southwest and Pacific Northwest several times over the years. The team is currently an affiliate of the San Diego Padres and has played as the El Paso Chihuahuas since 2014.

Los Angeles was a two-team PCL city for decades and would not be a one-team major league city for long. In 1961 the American League awarded a Los Angeles franchise to Gene Autry, “The Singing Cowboy” of radio, television, and motion picture fame. Autry, a former minority owner of the Hollywood Stars, named his new team after his old team’s crosstown rival, the Los Angeles Angels.

Los Angeles Angels Uniform History

1921-1926 Home

1927-1928 Home

1929-1934 Home

1935-1936 Home

1937-1938 Home

1921-1926 Away

1927-1928 Away

1929-1934 Away

1935-1936 Away

1937-1938 Away

1939-1941 Home

1942-1943 Home

1944-1949 Home

1950-1954 Home

1955-1957 Home

1939-1941 Away

1942-1943 Away

1944-1949 Away

1950-1954 Away

1955-1957 Away