Hollywood Stars


Current Season
Team History
All-Time Leaders    Batting    Pitching
Governor’s Cup Titles: None
Manager: Ossie Vitt
Ballpark: Wrigley Field

Wrigley Field   Opened: 1925   Capacity: 22,457
Avalon Boulevard and 42nd Place, Los Angeles, California

AVG overall 1.004
LHB 1.004, RHB 1.004
Doubles 1.024
Triples .927
HR overall 1.540
LHB 1.560, RHB 1.530

Distances/wall heights
Left Field line 340 ft./15 ft.
Left Field 342 ft./15 ft.
Left-Center Field 345 ft./15 ft.
Center Field 412 ft./12 ft.
Right-Center Field 345 ft./12 ft.
Right Field 341 ft./9 ft.
Right Field line 339 ft./9 ft.

In the Redux

Playing in Salt Lake City as the Bees from 1921-1925, the club alternated between good seasons and poor ones; the pinnacle was a first-place finish in 1924 that nevertheless ended with a disappointing Governor’s Cup Series defeat. After a last-place finish in their first season as the Hollywood Stars they rebounded in 1927 with a third-place, 83-win campaign.

Real-life history

This much-traveled franchise’s PCL roots were in Sacramento. After three seasons in the California League, the Sacramento Sacts joined the PCL in 1909, but like earlier teams based in the state’s small-town capitol found drawing profitable crowds a tough row to hoe. They struggled there for a few years, then spent a partial year in San Francisco as the Mission Wolves in 1914. In 1915 a Salt Lake City group including mining magnate Bill “Hardrock” Lane purchased the team and moved them to Utah’s capital, where they were known as the Bees; by 1917 Lane had purchased the controlling shares of the club. The Bees played in tiny Bonneville Park, and the combination of the thin mountain air and the short distance to the outfield fence led to astronomical home run totals. The Bees’ Tony Lazzeri hit 60 home runs in 1925 (while fashioning a Hall of Fame career in the majors, the second baseman hit no more than 18 in any big league campaign).

The 1937 Padres, PCL Champions

The Bees drew fairly well in Salt Lake City, but the other PCL owners were never happy about the cost of travel to Utah, and Lane was pressured to relocate. In 1926 he moved the club to Los Angeles, where they were briefly known as the Hollywood Bees before settling on the flashier and more familiar Hollywood Stars.

This first edition of the Stars never actually played in Hollywood, spending their decade-long L.A. tenure as tenants of the Los Angeles Angels at the original Wrigley Field. Although the club never drew as well as Lane had hoped, the Stars at least found on-field success, winning PCL pennants in 1929 and 1930.

The friar mascot predates the MLB Padres. A 19-year old fan named Carlos Hadaway won a “Create Our Brand for Us and Get Paid Nothing” contest in 1961.

Refusing to accept a 100% rent hike after the 1935 season, Lane moved the team to San Diego, where they became the Padres. Playing in the hastily-built Lane Field, the club won a pennant in 1937, its second year in the city. Although they were unable to repeat that success for more than two decades, the team had found a home. In 1957 they were purchased by banker C. Arnholt Smith, who moved them to a new facility, Westgate Park, that year. The Padres won pennants as a Reds affiliate in 1962 and 1964 and as a Phillies affiliate in 1967.

The PCL Padres officially folded after the 1968 season. Smith’s bid for a National League franchise had been accepted, and as the owner of the San Diego Padres name, he transferred it to his new team in 1969.